Writing an Introduction

Last year around this time I had the enormous pleasure of finding out that my story, “Omeer’s Mangoes” had won the Saturday Evening Post’s Great American Fiction Contest.

This year, I am pleased that they asked me to write the introduction to their new anthology of short stories. The editor in chief there, Patrick Perry, has been a fine editor and friend, and helped me shape the short essay at the front of this book.

If you click on the picture of the book, you can browse through it and read all 700 words or so of the introduction.

2016 Anthology Introduction SEP

 

4 thoughts on “Writing an Introduction

  1. How do you have time to write stories? I’m spending all my time on my book. Your introduction is marvelous, evocative, and tells me many things that I didn’t already know. That’s what I always told my students, “Tell your reader something she doesn’t already know.” I just finished Love in the Time of Cholera, and I learned something I didn’t know on almost every page.
    I can’t compliment you enough on your skill, humble, accessible voice, and warmth as a writer. Everything you write invites reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are such a faithful and kind reader, Ann. Love in the Time of Cholera is one of my all-time favorite books. You remind me that I should re-read it. And as for finding time to write stories, I imagine it’s akin to those folks who always find time to work out. I make time for it because it is one the great pleasures of my life.

    Like

  3. West, I had no idea the Post has been in publication since 1728. You have written a lovely introduction honoring that long tradition of the Post’s commitment to writers and writing. And as for “Omeer’s Mangoes,” it’s one of my favorite stories of all time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sandell – I must admit that when I entered the contest over a year ago, I didn’t know until then that The Saturday Evening Post was still being published, much less with a circulation of over $3 million! When they asked me to this introduction, and I looked into it further, I discovered what you discovered. It’s been around since before we were even country. It’s nice to know that there are institutions like the SEP (and the VCCA) who support artists so steadfastly. And you, what a wonderful writing friend you are.

      Like

Leave a Reply

